How To Create a Shared Drive on Google Drive in 4 Steps

Learning how to create a shared Google Drive allows you to master the core function of Google Workspace. Unlike the files in My Drive that are limited to a particular individual, a shared Google Drive has secure cloud storage and grants access permissions to multiple persons. With many teams now working from home, having a shared Drive makes remote work easy.

1.1 Create a shared drive
  1. Open Google Drive.
  2. On the left, click Shared drives. Shared drives are available only if your organization supports them. For help, contact your administrator.
  3. At the top, click New .
  4. Enter a name and click Create.

How to create shared Google Drive folders

How to create a shared drive on Google Drive

Heres a list of steps for creating a shared drive on Google Drive, with a description of each step:

1. Create the shared drive

Log in to your Google Drive account. Go to the “Shared Drives” section of your drive folder. Click the “+” button to create a new shared drive. Specify the name of your new folder and whether you want to make it public or private.

2. Copy files into the shared drive

Click the “Files” tab at the top of your Drive account, then click “Select or drag & drop.” Find any files you want to share, then drag them into your newly created shared folder. You can also create files directly on Google Drive, such as new documents or presentations.

3. Define user access

You can invite people to view or access your shared drive public folder. You can allow individual users to share files with others, make the files private or share files only if the person meets any predefined criteria for viewing them, such as “everyone except nonemployees.” You can also provide an email address that users need to use when sharing with you.

4. Let others download files on your shared drive

Once they have permission, others can also download files in your shared folder. To do so, click the “Files” tab at the top of your Drive account, and then click “Download this folder.” They can also use copy and paste to transfer the file to their computer manually.

What is a shared drive on Google Drive?

A shared drive on Google Drive is a folder of files that many people can access and view for collaboration purposes. Businesses commonly use it to organize files and send them to multiple employees or groups of colleagues. For example, when team members collaborate on a spreadsheet for an upcoming project, they might create a shared drive so that team members can track and update documents easily. The folder can be public so that any person who has the link can view the files inside it or private so that only users with permission can view them.

Tips for using a shared drive on Google Drive

Here are some tips for using a shared drive on Google Drive:

Benefits of using a shared drive on Google Drive

Heres a list of benefits of using a shared drive with a description of each benefit:

Please note that none of the companies mentioned in this article are affiliated with Indeed.

FAQ

How do I create a shared Google Drive workspace?

Anyone can create a Google Shared drive and then add members and set permissions. You can designate a Google Group as the membership for a Shared drive. Using Workgroup Integration, you can create a Google Group from existing Stanford Workgroups.

Can anyone create a shared drive on Google?

You can use shared drives in Google Drive to store, search, and access files with a team. Shared drive files belong to the team instead of an individual.
  1. Each shared drive has its own trash.
  2. After 30 days, files and folders in Trash are deleted forever.
  3. Members can delete specific files sooner.

How do shared drives work on Google Drive?

Google shared drives (formerly known as Team Drives) are a feature in Google’s Workspace for Education. Unlike files in My Drive, files in shared drives are owned by the team/group rather than an individual.

What is the difference between Google Drive and shared drive?

Google shared drives (formerly known as Team Drives) are a feature in Google’s Workspace for Education. Unlike files in My Drive, files in shared drives are owned by the team/group rather than an individual.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.