How To Calculate and Optimize Your Conversion Rate

Le pourcentage d’actions de l’utilisateur après le cumul des clics sur une annonce ou un autre bien numérique. Votre stratégie marketing définit les actions effectuées, qui consistent généralement à cliquer sur un deuxième lien, à télécharger un actif tel qu’un document technique B2B (business-to-business) ou à s’inscrire pour recevoir des offres spéciales de vente. La formule est la suivante : clics / actions = taux de conversion. Plus votre taux de conversion est élevé, plus votre campagne marketing en ligne est réussie.

Conversion rates are calculated by simply taking the number of conversions and dividing that by the number of total ad interactions that can be tracked to a conversion during the same time period. For example, if you had 50 conversions from 1,000 interactions, your conversion rate would be 5%, since 50 ÷ 1,000 = 5%.

Calculate CONVERSION RATE marketing metric Quick WIN!

Types of conversions

These common types of conversions are easy to measure once youve got the data in front of you. Once youve compiled the data, youll be ready to calculate the conversion rate. Some types of conversions include:

What is a conversion rate?

A companys conversion rate helps determine the success behind its sales and marketing efforts. This important metric in online marketing provides numerical insight behind the frequency of website visitors and other actions in the form of a percentage. Business owners may have many types of conversion goals theyd like to accomplish.

How to calculate a conversion rate

Calculating the conversion rate is a fairly simple process that follows a basic formula. Here are some simple steps you can take to calculate conversion in relation to purchases on an e-commerce site:

Step-by-step explanation of conversion rate calculation

Step-by-step example of the conversion calculation:

Conversion rates can be calculated manually or through the help of an online analytics tool. Here are some additional examples of how the variables of a conversion rate formula can differ depending on how a business measures success:

Determining which formula is best for you depends on your end goal. Suppose you own an online site that sells personalized socks. Your main goal is to ensure that people find your site and purchase your socks. Youve created a sales funnel that will lead them to the virtual shopping cart for the final purchase.

Example of calculating a conversion rate

If you had 55,000 unique visitors to your site last month and ended up selling personalized socks to 800 people, youd have a conversion rate of 1.45%. The equation breaks down like this:

55,000 / 800 x 100 = 1.45%

How do you know if your conversion rate is considered a good one by industry standards? Most lead generation pages do not surpass a 12% conversion rate, so if youre at or above that, your business is doing well.

Types of conversion rates

Once youve received traffic to your site, you can separate metrics according to the types of conversion rates you want to know about. Here are two of the most common conversion rates:

By isolating the metrics of your site traffic, youll get a detailed look at how well your marketing strategy is functioning.

New visitor conversion rate

This conversion rate is calculated by looking only at the new visitors or visitors who are interacting with your site for the first time. Ease of navigation, content clarity and the sites overall value influence this rate.

Return visitor conversion rate

When someone returns to a website, they may be returning to complete a transaction or learn more about your company. Return visitors are often ready to convert because these site users have already found you once. If the timing of offers is right, theyll likely purchase the item they saw the first time around.

How to track a conversion rate

Calculating a conversion rate is not always about the final purchase. You might be looking to track the number of people who signed up for your newsletter or the number of leads generated from a free eBook your team created. Most companies follow a weekly or monthly tracking regimen to stay focused on their conversion goals. Increasing the conversion rates is a top priority in digital marketing because more money for the business contributes to a companys overall success.

Here are some ways you can implement tracking methods:

Tracking conversions helps you stay in-the-know when implementing marketing strategies, which also helps you gain a competitive edge over others in the business who may not be paying attention to the metrics. Consider hiring an experienced web developer to help you with the analytics if youre unsure of how to properly track the metrics in an online platform.

Web analytics service

Several online platforms offer free tools to businesses that help track their conversions, rather than through a manual, time-consuming process. They track and report website traffic in one easy-to-find place.

Session recordings and replay tools

Some marketers have found valuable information regarding the user experience by implementing session recording and replay tools on their sites. By watching the site users behavior connected to the page, they can determine areas of improvement and may even discover the source of a high bounce rate.

Heatmaps

Heatmap tools show the areas of a screen that visitors interact with most. The colored heatmaps on a screen represent the areas of a site that are being clicked by the user in varying degrees. Darker areas represent heavy use while lighter areas show the opposite. Areas that lack heatmaps represent areas of a screen that may be skimmed over or ignored.

Satisfaction surveys

Asking your customers or site users direct questions is a great way to measure customer satisfaction. Decide what you want to know most when writing the survey and ask questions about user experience. Youll receive unique responses that would not be possible through the use of an analytics tool, like suggested improvements to the site and things that make customers happy. Conversions happen when people are happy about their experience.

How to optimize a conversion rate

There are several ways that a business can optimize its website to generate more conversions. Conversion rate optimization focuses on strategies that enhance a sites conversion rate using the site traffic that already exists. To receive more conversions, youll want to do a few things to test your website:

Additionally, take some extra time to test out your website traffic.

Prioritize your landing page

Before you spend money on paid advertising, its important to know which website page you want to target for conversions. Many businesses use their homepage as the main landing page for their ads, though others focus on special pages created for current sales that show all on-sale items.

Conduct an A/B test

When your website is already generating lots of traffic, A/B testing is a quick and easy way to do CRO. Create two types of landing pages that youll refer to as option A and option B. Send half of your traffic to the A page and the other half to the B page. Online CRO software makes this process incredibly easy.

Once youve decided which elements of your site make the biggest impact, try experimenting with a variety of CRO tests. Its important to only change one element with each test so you know that you can directly associate success to that change. Some examples of elements you can change involve wording of the headline, the layout and description of your offer, and the choice of words used in your call-to-action like “buy now,” “shop today,” or “act fast.” You can even A/B test by switching out your picture or video assets for a better understanding of whats visually appealing to your audience.

Establish trust

There are a few simple things you can do to promote a trustworthy website. Make sure you place the “About us” or contact information in a visible place. Designate someone who can respond to questions online in a timely manner or implement a call center if your business receives a large number of inquiries. Provide customer reviews, client stories, or case studies on your site so people have the information they need to complete conversions with confidence.

FAQ

How do you calculate conversion rate from sales?

How To Calculate Sales Conversion Rate And Improve It
  1. So, without any further ado, let us get you market-ready.
  2. Sales Conversion Rate= (Number of Sales / Number of Leads) *100.
  3. Or.
  4. Sales Conversion Rate= (Number of Conversions / Number of Qualified Leads) *100.

What is example of conversion rate?

The conversion rate is the number of conversions divided by the total number of visitors. For example, if an ecommerce site receives 200 visitors in a month and has 50 sales, the conversion rate would be 50 divided by 200, or 25%.

How do you calculate conversion rate in Excel?

To determine a conversion rate, divide the number of goals achieved in a given time frame by the total number of visitors to your website, then multiply that number by 100. So if your landing page had 16,982 visitors and of those, 3,604 took a desired action, then your conversion rate is 21.22%.

How do you calculate conversion rate in metrics?

To determine a conversion rate, divide the number of goals achieved in a given time frame by the total number of visitors to your website, then multiply that number by 100. So if your landing page had 16,982 visitors and of those, 3,604 took a desired action, then your conversion rate is 21.22%.

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