6 Types of (ISC)2 Certifications

Founded in 1989, (ISC)2 is a leading cybersecurity organization that provides training, education and certifications for IT professionals and the organizations they support. A non-profit organization, (ISC)2 boasts almost 140,000 members worldwide.

offers a comprehensive program with six different certifications, including certifications geared to information security, healthcare security and risk management. Most certifications are geared towards experienced security professionals with advanced or expert skills in their area of focus.

Earning and maintaining an (ISC)2 credential isn’t easy. In addition to passing an exam, candidates must meet experience requirements, agree to the (ISC)2 Code of Ethics, submit applications and endorsements, and pay an annual maintenance fee (AMF). Credentials are valid for three years, and candidates must earn continuing professional education credits (CPEs) to maintain the credential.

Let’s take a closer look at these certifications and see how the five lower (ICS)2 certifications compare to the pinnacle one —Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP).

Note that (ISC)2 does not require candidates to meet the work experience requirements to sit for an examination. A candidate who lacks the experience required to earn a particular certification but who has passed the exam is awarded the designation Associate of (ISC)2.

New (ISC)² Entry-Level Cybersecurity Certification

Types of (ISC)2 certifications

Here are six (ISC)2 certifications you can pursue, each with a different focus on cybersecurity:

1. Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP)

The CISSP also allows candidates to obtain the following specialized certifications:

2. Certified Cloud Security Professional (CCSP)

3. Systems Security Certified Practitioner (SSCP)

4. Certified Authorization Professional (CAP)

5. Certified Secure Software Lifecycle Professional (CSSLP)

6. Health Care Information Security and Privacy Practitioner (HCISPP)

This (ISC)2 certification is specifically for security professionals who work in the health care field and are responsible for making sure all patients health information remains protected. A professional who earns the HCISSP certification demonstrates knowledge in the following domains:

What is an (ISC)2 certification?

(ISC)2 stands for International Information System Security Certification Consortium, a nonprofit organization that focuses on cybersecurity and provides certifications to professionals who want to work in the field. (ISC)2 gives comprehensive training that allows you to be prepared for important work in the industry. The certifications are recognized worldwide as some of the best you can earn in IT security. Many employers look for candidates to have these certifications in cybersecurity roles because they can prove a candidate has the knowledge and skills to keep the organizations networks and systems protected.

How to choose the right (ISC)2 certification

Follow these steps to decide which (ISC)2 certification is best for you:

1. Establish your career goals

The first step in choosing the right (ISC)2 certification is to establish your career goals. Think about what you want to achieve, the companies you want to work for and what your ideal workday looks like. The more you can identify your professional goals and the path youll likely take to accomplish them, the better prepared you can be to select a certification that fits well.

2. Ask experts for their opinion

It can be helpful to reach out to other professionals who’ve earned (ISC)2 certifications and see what they think about your career path. Those who’ve worked in the field and have gained exposure to the work environment you may be in can provide some insight for you in your search for the best certification for your needs. You can also look at online forums or specialty blogs in information technology and security to see whether the contributors have any opinions on which are most valuable for you.

3. Understand the value of the (ISC)2 certifications

Its important to understand the value of having at least one (ISC)2 certification in case youre wondering whether any of them are worth pursuing. When you recognize what certification can offer your career, you may be more likely to select multiple certifications if they make sense for you. Some benefits that come with obtaining certification include:

4. Know the expectations for each

Although each (ISC)2 certification can help you solidify your knowledge of cybersecurity, it also has an individual path to completion. Some are more advanced, while others may be more entry-level for your needs and experience.

In general, to earn one of these certifications, you have work experience, pass an exam, go through an endorsement process, agree to the (ISC)2 Code of Ethics and pay your membership dues. Knowing the expectations can help you determine whether this is the right time to pursue certifications and which is best for your career path.


Are ISC certifications worth IT?

An (ISC)² certification can help professionals prove their technical knowledge and level of expertise to current or prospective employers. Credential holders can boost their job prospects, advance their careers and may be able to secure positions with higher salaries.

What other certifications can you get from ISC ²?

No matter where you are in your cybersecurity career, (ISC)² certifications can help you achieve your professional goals.
  • New! …
  • Cybersecurity Leadership and Operations. …
  • Advanced Specialties. …
  • Security Administration and Operations. …
  • Cloud Security Expertise. …
  • Risk Management Framework. …
  • Secure Software Development.

What does isc2 stand for?

The International Information Systems Security Certification Consortium, more commonly known as (ISC)2, is a non-profit organization that provides security training and certificates.

Is CISSP or CCSP better?

CISSP is a certification that allows you to further your career by moving into management, while CCSP helps you stay technical. Also, becoming a CISSP credential stands as the entire experience required for a CCSP. Both the certifications have been elaborated hereunder for more precise and better understanding.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.